Leave your Feedback


Reviews (383)

Treated as inpatient ward understaffed

March 23, 2023
I was admitted for treatment and overall care was okay. The ward was very understaffed. I found myself helping staff with an elderly patient with dementia, at night he was rummaging through other peoples belongings. He just wasn't receiving the care and attention he needed. I was even thanked by the staff for helping. I hardly slept during my stay because of the situation.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the service at Heartlands Hospital. We are really sorry to hear that your experience on the ward was not a positive one; in particular the issues with the dementia patient, even though, staff have shown appreciation for your help.

It is important that you raise your concern with the matron or ward manager so they are aware of your experience and how this has had an impact on your sleep. Our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) to provide your details. PALS are here to help and can be contacted by phone 0121 424 0808, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk or by contact form at https://www.uhb.nhs.uk/forms/contact-complaint-concern if you feel you need further support.

Kindest regards, Patient Experience Team


Provider responded

Difficulties navigating hospital layout

March 22, 2023
Visited the hospital for a cardiogram. The appointment went ok. Had difficulties finding out where to go and had to ask for assistance. Have received good communication via letters, texts and email relating to appointments which is great.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback about Heartlands Hospital. We are pleased to hear about the good service you've received.
If you would like to provide any further feedback about your experience please visit the hospital webpage https://www.uhb.nhs.uk/get-in-touch/feedback/

Best Wishes, Patient Experience Team


Provider responded

Never been seen so quickly, very impressed!

March 22, 2023
Visit to the Blood Pressure clinic. Appointment went very well was seen very quickly, was in and out in no time and care received was good. Staff were lovely.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback about Heartlands Hospital Birmingham. We are delighted to hear about the excellent service you received from our colleagues in the Blood Pressure clinic.

Your kind words have been forwarded to senior staff to share with the department, if you would like to provide any further feedback about your experience please visit the hospital webpage https://www.uhb.nhs.uk/get-in-touch/feedback/

kindest regards, Patient Experience Team


Provider responded

A long wait in A&E

March 22, 2023
Had to attend A&E with severe knee pain/problem and I was unable to get into my GP surgery. The wait was very long and uncomfortable because of the pain I was experiencing. When I was finally seen things moved quickly and an MRI scan was arranged.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your patient experience at Heartlands Hospital. We are sorry that you had a bit of a wait for our services. We are continuing to have a great deal of pressure on our resources which is having a major impact on our waiting times.

Nevertheless, It is lovely to receive such positive feedback from our patients about our staff and service.

Best wishes, Patient Experience Team


Provider responded

Not the best experience at Heartlands

March 21, 2023
Not the best experience when you have to visit Heartlands. Would rather go to Solihull but no A&E department.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent patient experience at Heartlands Hospital. We are sorry that you had a poor patient experience, nevertheless, our staff are working extremely hard to deliver good service in these very difficult times.

We are very pleased to inform you that in June 2023 the MIU (Minor Injuries Unit) at Solihull will be opening again and in addition to this service there will also be a minor illnesses service which will be provided by a local primary care provider (GPs) and this collaboration will mean that the two services will be opened in June as the Solihull Urgent Treatment Centre (UTC).

The UTC will provide a much needed urgent care service – supporting with minor illnesses and injuries - for the residents of Solihull.

Kindest regards, Patient Experience Team


Provider responded

Failed to properly investigate my symptoms

March 21, 2023
I felt like I was continuously brushed off. I was told my symptoms were down to anxiety and they were not fully investigated. My symptoms resulted in me attending a hospital out of the city and not under the remit of UHB, where my symptoms were fully investigated and my heart condition was detected resulting in a proper diagnosis.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you had a poor patient experience at Heartlands Hospital. We take the issues you have raised very seriously and would like to look into the concerns you have raised.

Please contact our Patient Relations Team if you feel you are able, so that we can look into the care and treatment you experienced, you can call them on 0121 424 0808 or via email pals@uhb.nhs.uk the team will be able to look into with the issues you have raised.

Kindest regards, Patient Experience Team


Provider responded

Long wait and poor communication

March 21, 2023
Honestly just awful. Visited A&E - waiting times are ridiculous and there's no communication from staff at all. You're just left to suffer while you wait. Staff aren't friendly and don't reassure you at all.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

We are sorry to hear of the difficulties you were facing and apologise for the long waiting times. If you have any concerns regarding your treatment and care and would like to discuss them, then please contact the Patient Relations Team on 0121 424 0808 or by email: pals@uhb.nhs.uk

Kind regards, Patient Experience Team


Provider responded

Overall Good

March 20, 2023
I was admitted for treatment at Heartlands Hospital. Overall, it was a good experience and I received good treatment and care. The only problem was that the ward was very hard to contact which was difficult for my family and friends during my admission.
Anonymous

Emergency Appendix Surgery

March 20, 2023
My child required emergency surgery for appendicitis. At the time I was not completely happy with the care and experience, but looking back it all went ok and they received the appropriate treatment. I feel there is room for improvement in patient/relative care, in particular, communication between the staff and how they relay information to patients and their relatives could be better.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your experience at Heartlands Hospital.

All feedback is used by the Patient Experience Team to identify themes and trends across the organisation to highlight areas of improvement and areas of excellence. Your comments have been forwarded to the lead Manager for Paediatrics to highlight the concern you have raised as well as the praise for the staff at Heartlands Hospital.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, it is most appreciated.

Kind Regards, Patient Services Team


Provider responded

Excellent Diabetic Clinic

February 21, 2023
Have received excellent care and support from the diabetic clinic. The weight management team have also been fantastic in supporting me improve my health.
Anonymous

Reply from UHB Heartlands Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent experience at Heartlands Hospital. I am so pleased to read that you felt supported throughout and well informed by our staff who do work very hard to ensure a positive patient experience regardless of how busy their workload is. I will ensure that your feedback is forwarded to the Diabetic and Weight Management Teams, who I'm sure will be very pleased to read your comments, which I hope is acceptable.

Once again, thank for your feedback and please contact us if you require any other assistance.

Kindest regards, Patient Experience Team


Provider responded

UHB Heartlands Hospital

Contact

0121 424 2000

Bordesley Green
Birmingham
B9 5SS

Location

Share this rating